Wolfworx & Copyright V1.0

Yes yes, I know, not a very cheery subject but one I think needs some clarification all the same.

Like most things I do, my approach to copyright & usage rights is really quite simple. No one has time for a tangled web of confusing do’s and don’ts.

Visually my images exist on the Internet, as prints or on CD’s with 3 distinct appearances (The watermark itself may alter slightly in time but you will get the idea – It’s not difficult to differentiate.

1. Web Image type A

IMK53875a

This image has typically been prepared for ordering (Note the big file number top left) and has a fairly intrusive watermark hiding all the good bits. This watermark is actually to encourage people to buy images that have a far smaller watermark. It is also of poor resolution.

Generally these will be show or event photos.

If you see someone on Facebook (or where ever) with one or more of these as a profile pic or in an album, you can be sure they are either unaware they can buy originals, or they believe it is ok to simply take what they want without paying for it.

What are you permitted to do with this image

Order an original of it

What are you not permitted to do with this image

Download it

Screenshot it

Print it

Upload it

Display it

Email it

Use it for marketing purposes

Edit it

Remove the Logo

2. Web Image Type B, emailed or CD image

IMK53875

Purchased images will look like the one above. They have a small translucent logo, usually bottom left.

If you have ordered and paid for an image, or the image was part of a photoshoot what are your rights?

What are you permitted to do with this image

Download it

Screenshot it

Print it

Upload it

Display it

Email it

Use it for marketing purposes

Order prints from me of it

Share it via Facebook

Tag people

Use it as a profile pic

What are you not permitted to do with this image

Edit it

Remove the Logo

Enter a gray area

What if there was this really great image on the Wolfworx Facebook Page, my own personal Face book page and it only had the small logo in the corner ? (As is often the case with show ‘random’ or ‘candid’ images)

Well it’s simple really, if you are not in that image – don’t use it. If your friend is in it, by all means share it via the Facebook share mechanism or tag them so they can see for themselves.

If you are in the image then by all means tag yourself or use it as a profile picture.

What are you permitted to do with this image

Speak to me about ordering an original

Share it via Facebook

Tag people

Use it as a profile pic

What are you not permitted to do with this image

Download it

Screenshot it

Print it

Upload it

Display it

Email it

Use it for marketing purposes

Edit it

remove the logo

3. Image type C.

These should never happen, but they do. I have 2 daughters that have access to everything I do, and they like to upload pictures I take of them. Mostly these get water marked but sometimes they don’t.

IMK53875-2

There is no watermark whatsoever. However it is still very simple to deal with:

Ask yourself ‘did I take the photo?”  No ? Then don’t use it. If you really want it, speak to me first, I am not an unreasonable person.

“But your child emailed it too me?” Well they are too young to be legally responsible, so for now the buck stops here with me.

What are you permitted to do with this image

Order an original of it

What are you not permitted to do with this image

Download it

Screenshot it

Print it

Upload it

Display it

Email it

Use it for marketing purposes

Edit it

—-

General terms and conditions

1. Show, Event and Uncommissioned photos

The guidelines for these photos are as follows:

All rights & copyrights belong to me. Should you purchase photos, you then have unrestricted use of the photos you purchased.

What are you permitted to do with this image

Download it

Screenshot it

Print it

Upload it

Display it

Email it

Use it for marketing purposes

Order prints from me of it

What are you not permitted to do with this image

Edit it

Remove the Logo

2. Commissioned Photos (Photoshoots etc)

Unless otherwise agreed upon I retain full rights to commissioned photos. That means – should I choose to – I have the right to upload, electronically transmit, print, use for marketing etc and Image I have taken during commissioned shoots.

The person who commissioned the shoot enjoys full usage rights for those images.

What are you permitted to do with this image

Download it

Screenshot it

Print it

Upload it

Display it

Email it

Use it for marketing purposes

Order prints from me of it

What are you not permitted to do with this image

Edit it

Remove the Logo

—-

I trust this clarifies things, If you have any confusion or doubts – chat to me. When last I checked I was not an ogre.

I’m not out to get anyone, in fact one of my happiest moments was from earlier this year when someone who has never bought show photos before (they do take screen shots with their cellphone though, and yes, I know these things I am not stupid) did the right thing and bought a disc.

Footnote:

The photos used above are of a local rider and one of her trusty steeds. Why her ? Well I love the photo, so painterly in a way,  but also because she handles her business. She is honest and has been a loyal supporter of mine for ages.
There are many like her, and it’s them that keep me doing what I do…

Leave a Reply

