First Loves

I did allude to the fact that I love horses, so it is a natural extension of that love that I find myself photographing them quite a lot. Both in the arenas competing as well as the more personal side…

I freely admit I love this personal side more, and I also freely admit I have struggled to get the local horse fraternity to buy into my ‘horse and person’ shoots. I have had far more custom from people living 1000km away, but that is – as they say -life… however odd it may appear.

 

Fortunately it is not all gloom and doom, and those people who do get these portraits and lasting memories captured are always deeply appreciative of having them.

 

The shoot I would like to share tonight was really out of the blue. I got the call and a couple of hours later was shooting !

Kiara-50377

 

It was done around 2pm, a terrible time of day from a light point of view. The little girl, although in love with the idea of horses, had almost no experience of them. I think my easiness around both kids and horses helped her to behave in a very calm and natural way, like a seasoned pro !

Kiara-50379

 

To be fair, the pony was a delight, and never really put a foot wrong during the hour we were working with him.

Kiara-50366

 

 

He was more than happy to cuddle as long as he had food to munch on 🙂

Kiara-50354

 

 

It took a bit of convincing, but she even agreed to sit on him 🙂

Kiara-50418

 

 

Model potential ?

Kiara-50460

 

 

Until next time take care 🙂

Leave a Reply

